# MANIPUR LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

# BULLETIN PART-I No. 23

\*\*\*

Thursday, the 2nd August, 2007. Sravana 11, 1929 (Saka)

The House assembled at 11.00 am of Thursday, the 2nd August, 2007 in the Assembly Hall with the Hon'ble Speaker, Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh in the Chair.

# **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Hon'ble Chief Minister, 10 Cabinet Ministers, Hon'ble Deputy Speaker, Chairman & Vice-Chairman (Hill Areas Committee) and 43 Elected Members.

# **QUESTIONS:**

- (a) Hon'ble Minister (MOBC) made a reply to Starred Question No. 188 asked by Dr. Ng. Bijoy Singh, MLA regarding the reservation of OBC for undergoing all professional courses.
- (b) Hon'ble Chief Minister made a reply to Starred Question No. 189 asked by Dr. I. Ibohalbi, MLA regarding clearing of phumdi of Yangoi Karong in Thoubal.
- (c) Hon'ble Minister (Education) made a reply to Short Notice Question No. 2 asked by Shri Awangbow Newmei, MLA regarding policy of the government to provide proper school infrastructure in the immediate future in the Hill areas.

#### **ZERO HOUR:**

During zero-hour, Dr. H. Borajao called for an early solution in respect of the breaking down of the Tribal Development godown by a team of MLAs comprising of S/Shri Y. Surchandra, K. Meghachandra, U. Deven Singh and Th. Shyamkumar, MLAs and the subsequent submission of memorandum by ATSUM to the Hon'ble Chief Minister.

Dr. Ng Bijoy drew the attention to the unavailability of newspaper for the last 2 (two) days due to cease work by media persons.

Shri Morung Makunga raised a matter stressing the need for the Weight and Measures Department to check the weighing machines used in fish and meat shops.

Shri Bijoy Koijam also raised a matter relating to Zilla Parishad.

# **ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER:**

The Hon'ble Speaker announced that a matter of breach of Privilege in relation to the calling attention motion raised by Shri O. Joy Singh and R.K. Anand, MLAs has been referred to the Committee of Privileges and Ethics after taking the consent of the House.

#### **ELECTION OF DEPUTY SPEAKER:**

The Hon'ble Speaker informed the House that he had received 7 sets of nomination papers in favour of Shri Th. Shyamkumar Singh, MLA for election to the office of the Deputy Speaker, Manipur Legislative Assembly.

As nomination papers were filed only in the name of Shri Th. Shyamkumar Singh, he was elected unopposed as the Deputy Speaker of the Ninth Manipur Legislative Assembly and was escorted to the Seat of the Deputy Speaker by the Hon'ble Chief Minister, Shri O. Ibobi Singh and Shri O. Joy Singh, senior Opposition Leader.

Shri O. Joy Singh, MLA; Shri I. Hemochandra Singh, MLA; Dr. Ng. Bijoy Singh, MLA; Shri Ph. Parijat Singh, Minister (Health); Shri R.K. Anand, MLA; Dr. I. Ibohalbi, MLA; Shri O. Ibobi Singh, Chief Minister and Hon'ble Speaker, Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh made facilitation speeches.

### **ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SPEAKER:**

The Hon'ble Speaker announced the uncontested election of Shri I. Hemochandra Singh and Smt. O. Landhoni Devi, MLAs as a member of Committee on Public Accounts and Committee on Public Undertaking respectively.

## **SHORT DURATION DISCUSSION:**

Shri O. Joy Singh, MLA supported by Shri R.K. Anand and Dr. Ng. Bijoy Singh, MLAs raised a discussion on the alleged manipulation and irregularities in the awarding of marks in the MCS/MPS recruitment examination.

Hon'ble Chief Minister, Shri O. Ibobi Singh said that the matter raised for discussion would be sub-judice for discussion in the House as a case regarding the matter was pending with the Hon'ble High Court.

The matter was, therefore, not discussed in the House.

# **CONSIDERATION AND PASSING OF BILL:**

Shri O. Ibobi Singh, Chief Minister moved:

"that the Salaries and Allowances of Chairman of the Manipur Legislative Assembly (Hill Areas Committee) Third Amendment Bill, 2007 be taken into consideration."

After clause by clause consideration "the Salaries and Allowances of Chairman of the Manipur Legislative Assembly (Hill Areas Committee) Third Amendment Bill, 2007, Bill No. 8 of 2007" was passed by the House.

Hon'ble Speaker adjourned the House Sine-die at 12.45 p.m.

T. Joute

Secretary,
Manipur Legislative Assembly.