MANIPUR LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

BULLETIN PART-I No. 1

Friday, the 16th March, 2007. Phalguna 25, 1928 (Saka)

The House assembled at 10.00 am of Friday, the 16th March 2007 in the Assembly Hall with the Hon'ble Speaker Protem, Shri O. Joy Singh in the Chair.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Hon'ble Chief minister, 6 Cabinet Ministers, and 51 Elected Members.

ANNOUNCEMENT BY THE SECRETARY:

The Secretary, Shri T. Joute, Manipur Legislative Assembly announced the order by the Governor of Manipur dated 01/03/07 appointing Shri O. Joy Singh, MLA as Speaker Protem.

ELECTION OF SPEAKER:

7.

The Hon'ble Speaker Protem informed the House that he had received 4 sets of nomination papers in favour of Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh, MLA for election to the office of the Speaker, Manipur Legislative Assembly.

As nomination papers were filed only in the name of Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh, he was elected unopposed as the Speaker of the Ninth Manipur Legislative Assembly and was escorted to the Seat of the Speaker by the Hon'ble Chief Minister, Shri O. Ibobi Singh and Shri Radhabinod Koijam, senior Opposition Leader.

Shri O. Ibobi Singh, Hon'ble Chief Minister; Shri Radhabinod Koijam, MLA; Shri O. Joy Singh, MLA; Shri P. Parijat Singh, Hon'ble Minister; Shri R.K. Anand, MLA; Shri Phungzathang Tonsing, Hon'ble Minister; Shri Gaikhangam, Hon'ble Minister; Shri V. Hangkhalian, MLA; Shri Morung Makunga, MLA, Dr. Ng. Bijoy Singh, MLA; Dr. I. Ibohanbi Singh and Shri E. Kunjeshwor Singh, MLA gave felicitation speech.

Hon'ble Speaker Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh thanked the Members for electing him as the Speaker.

A Business Advisory Committee consisting of the following Members was constituted.

Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh, Hon'ble Speaker 1. Chairman. 2. Deputy Speaker (vacant) Member; Shri O. Ibobi Singh, Hon'ble Chief Minister 3. Member: 4. Law & Legislative Affairs Minister (vacant) Member; 5. Shri P. Parijat Singh, Hon'ble Minister Member; 6. Shri Radhabinod Koijam, Hon'ble MLA Member;

Member;

Shri O. Joy Singh, Hon'ble MLA

- 8. Md. Hellaluddin Khan, Hon'ble MLA
- 9. Shri V. Hangkhalian, Hon'ble MLA

Member; and Member.

(Hon'ble Speaker, Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh adjourned the House at 11.00 a.m. till 2.00 p.m. of the day).

(The afternoon session resumed at 2.00 p.m. with the Hon'ble Speaker, Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh in the Chair).

ADDRESS BY THE GOVERNOR:

His Excellency the Governor of Manipur, Dr. S.S. Sidhu addressed the Legislative Assembly of Manipur.

A copy of the same was laid on the Table of the House by the Hon'ble Speaker.

Motion of Thanks to the Governor's Address was moved by Shri N. Mangi Singh, MLA and seconded by Dr. Kh. Loken Singh, MLA.

Hon'ble Speaker, Dr. S. Budhichandra Singh adjourned the House at 3.20 p.m. till 11.00 a.m of Monday, the 19th March, 2007.

T. Joute

Secretary,
Manipur Legislative Assembly.

MANIPUR LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

No. 5/3/(1)/2007/LA(B)

Imphal, the 24th March, 2007.

CORRIGENDUM

In Bulletin Part-I No.1 and 2 for the sitting of 16th and 19th March, 2007, the number of Members under the Heading Members' Present shall be read as 50.

S. Devendra Singh

Jt. Director,
Manipur Legislative Assembly